Design Awards


Design Awards are presented by the Guildford Society and Guildford Borough Council on alternate years.

The Guildford Society Design Awards gives public recognition to Architects, Artists and organisations who have improved the look and character of Guildford. Awards are given in the Following categories:

Design Awards 2014

The 2014 Design Awards ceremony was held at the Univversity of Surrey, in conjunction with the Annual Architecture Lecture, on the 6th November 2014.

 This year, the Crabtree Award was presented,by our President, Robin, Countess of Onslow, to Perdita Hunt in recognition of her work for the Watts Gallery. 

Design Awards 2012

The 2012 Design Awards ceremony was held in the Guildhall on the 18th October 2012. The awards were presented by David Watts, former Chief Executive of Guildford Borough Council.

You can view photographs of the award winning entries here Guildford Society Design Awards 2012

Design Awards 2010

The 2010 Design Awards ceremony was held in Trinity Hall on 21st October 2010. The awards were presented by the President of the Guildford Society, Lord Onslow.

You can view photographs of the nominations here Design Award Nominations 2010

Heritage Database

The Heritage Database can be searched for details of the Guildford Society Design and Heritage awards and the Guildford Borough Council Design Awards.

The Search Form looks daunting, but is easy to use. Just press Search, at the bottom right, and you will get a listing of all the Awards. It is quite long list, because the awards go back to 1984.

You can make the list shorter by entering conditions on the search form.

If you only want to see awards for 2005, enter 2005 in the year and click Search

If you only want to see awards for Shop Fronts enter Shop Fronts in the Category and click Search.

You can fill in more than one field. The more information you specify, the quicker the search and the shorter the list.

Click here to enter the Database Search Form Design Awards Database